Skip to content

2023 SPARK Award | Spotlight: Guadalupe Villatoro

Congratulations, Texas Elementary Science Teachers!

Congratulations to 2023 SPARK Award finalist Guadalupe Villatoro on also being voted by the public as this year’s People’s Choice Award Winner!

Guadalupe was chosen as the People’s Choice Award winner through an online vote and recognized at our annual alliantgroup SPARK Award luncheon celebrating outstanding elementary science teachers from across the state of Texas.

She teaches fourth, fifth, and sixth grade science at Harmony School of Science in El Paso. She’s only been teaching for three years but has already achieved incredible milestones in her career. In addition to this year’s SPARK Award recognition, she was named the 2022 Harmony School of Science Teacher of the Year.

Guadelupe credits her own childhood science teacher for igniting her passion for learning – a passion she hopes to instill her own students.

“My favorite thing about teaching science is all the activities we can do to learn, the fun we can have while learning. I tell my students all the time, science is all around you, so you never stop learning.”

As the People’s Choice Award winner, Guadalupe Villatoro’s classroom will receive a visit from Monica Cortez, the Chief Meteorologist for KTSM 9 News Nexstar Media Group in El Paso. This recognition reflects Guadalupe’s outstanding service as a STEM (science, technology, engineering, math) educator and her exceptional contributions to making a difference in the lives of young people.

Guadelupe and all the SPARK Award finalists and winner were recently honored at the annual SPARK Award luncheon at alliantgroup’s global headquarters in Houston, Texas. FOX 26 Houston meteorologist Lena Arango served as the event emcee. The judging panel included Texas A&M mechanical engineering professor Dr. Robert Ambrose, CBS 42 Austin news anchor Adela Uchida, NBC 23 Brownsville meteorologist Chris Ramirez, Baly Projects President Hon. Jacquie Baly, and FOX 26 Houston news anchor Caroline Collins.

Our other finalists

Ritu Gandhi – Morales Elementary School, Pasadena ISD

Xochitl Lara – Zavala Elementary, Harlingen CISD

Robin Beasley – Patton Elementary School, Austin ISD

Guadalupe Villatoro – Harmony School of Science, Harmony Public Schools

Rosa Edwards Harris – Herod Elementary School, Houston ISD

Congratulations once again to Guadalupe Villatoro, the People’s Choice award winner at the 2023 SPARK Award.

About the Author

Candice Garner joined alliantgroup in 2018 and serves as a Community Engagement Associate. She is a proud HBCU grad from Prairie View A&M University. Candice is passionate about giving back to the community and believes sharing our personal stories brings us together. When she’s not showcasing alliantgroup’s work in the community, you can find her traveling the world and trying new foods.

If you or someone you know is involved in activities that support STEM, reach out to us today!